How Many Death Certificates Do I Need? Check Your Count
Start with 10 to 12 certified copies of the death certificate, the range recommended to surviving spouses by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's 2026 Help for Surviving Spouses guide. To check an executor's exact figure, list the probate filing, asset institutions, separately titled properties and insurance carriers; count only destinations confirmed to retain a certified copy, then add two spares. A scan, photocopy or returned paper consumes no additional certified copy.
What number should most executors order?
Ten to 12 certified copies is the CFPB's starting range for a surviving spouse. The bureau gives that number twice in its 2026 guide, once in the opening financial checklist and again in the first-steps section. The same guide explains why the number moves. Life insurers, creditors, banks and credit unions may ask for a physical certificate, while other organizations accept an electronic copy.
Treat 10–12 as an order range, rather than a quota. A surviving spouse with one joint bank account, no probate and no individually titled real estate may use far fewer. An executor handling brokerage assets, two deeds and policies from several carriers may need more.
For a U.S. citizen who died abroad, USAGov says the embassy or consulate issues a Consular Report of Death Abroad, and the family can receive up to 20 free certified copies at the time of death. That report serves as proof of death in the United States.
How do I calculate the exact number myself?
I have spent 16 years keeping track of who owns which blocks of telephone numbers. The useful habit is to count owners and destinations, then record what happens to each document. Counting accounts alone inflates the order because four accounts at one bank may pass through one estate-services team. Counting only companies can understate it when two departments demand separate papers.
Use a four-step register:
- List every asset-holding legal institution shown on the latest bank, brokerage, pension, annuity and retirement statements. Combine accounts only after that institution confirms one certificate covers them all.
- List every separately titled property from the recorded deeds or a title report, including a second parcel that shares the home's street address. Ask the recorder or title professional whether each transfer package consumes a certified copy.
- List every life, accidental-death, employer and other insurance carrier shown on the policy declarations or benefit records. Ask whether one carrier can process several policies with one certificate.
- Add any court filing that requires a certified copy, mark two untouched copies as spares, and total only the rows marked `KEEP`.
Use three status codes in the working register: `KEEP` when the recipient retains or records the certified paper, `RETURN` when it sends that paper back, and `SCAN` when an upload or ordinary photocopy satisfies the request. Keep the status beside the destination, contact date and representative's name.
Policies differ enough that live confirmation beats a generic checklist. The sky outside at four is flat grey, windless and unchanged since eleven; even on such an uneventful afternoon, I would make the calls before paying California's $26-per-copy fee. Ask one exact question. “Will you keep this certified copy, return it, or accept a scan?” Write down the representative's name, date and answer.
A worked count from records, not guesswork
Suppose the latest statements identify four asset-holding institutions, the recorded deeds identify two separately titled properties, and the policy file identifies two insurance carriers. The local court checklist adds one probate filing. Those source documents produce nine provisional destinations.
The calls then establish that three of the four financial institutions keep a certified copy; the fourth accepts an upload. Both property transfer packages will record one. Both insurers retain one. Massachusetts provides a concrete court figure. Its Formal Probate instructions, form MPC 963, require one certified copy of the death certificate to be filed. The retained-copy count is therefore 3 + 2 + 2 + 1 = 8. Add two spares and order 10 certified copies.
That arithmetic is auditable. If one insurer accepts a scan, the total falls to nine. If a bank requires separate submissions for its deposit and brokerage divisions, it rises to 11.
Which requests actually consume a certified copy?
“Needs the death certificate” can describe three different actions: viewing a scan, receiving a paper temporarily or filing the paper permanently. Only the last action consumes your copy. The published instructions below show why every recipient belongs on its own row.
| Recipient | Published requirement | Count before calling | |---|---|---:| | Massachusetts formal probate court | MPC 963 says a certified copy must be filed. Reserve 1 as retained by the case file. | 1 | | Los Angeles County Recorder | Its Affidavit of Death of Joint Tenant/Trustee instructions say to present a certified copy when recording the affidavit. Count 1 per recording package unless the recorder confirms that one copy can support several instruments. | 1 each | | Bank, credit union, creditor or insurer | The CFPB says some require a physical copy and others accept an electronic copy. Policy decides the count. | 1 provisional per institution or carrier | | Social Security Administration | SSA says funeral homes generally report deaths. When evidence is requested for a benefit claim, federal rule 20 CFR 404.720 accepts several forms of proof. | 0 until SSA asks | | National Grid electric or gas account | Its deceased-account form requires a copy of the death certificate; an estate-name transfer also needs one court-sealed authority document. The form does not specify a certified death certificate. | 0 certified copies unless requested | | Subscriptions and routine cancellations | USAGov says a photocopy may be enough for a subscription and directs families to check with the organization. | 0 until confirmed |
The property count deserves care. A home and an adjoining lot may share an address while sitting under separate titles. Los Angeles County's recorder specification ties the certified copy to the affidavit being recorded, so the number of addresses tells you little; the deeds and recording packages are the relevant units.
How is a death certificate different from a will or court authority?
Families often put all estate papers into one mental bundle. Each document answers a different question, and substituting one for another causes rejected requests.
| Document | What it establishes | What it does not establish | |---|---|---| | Certified death certificate | The recorded fact, date and place of death, issued as an official copy by a state or local vital-records office | Who currently has authority to act for the estate | | Will | The decedent's stated distribution plan and nomination of an executor, subject to applicable law and probate | Proof that the named executor has been appointed; ownership of every asset | | Letters Testamentary or Letters of Authority | The probate court's appointment of the personal representative | Whether a particular account passes by beneficiary designation or a property by its title | | Deed, account title or beneficiary designation | The ownership or contractual transfer route for that specific asset | Proof of death by itself |
Massachusetts' formal-probate instructions require the original will, when available, and a certified copy of the death certificate as distinct filings. After appointment, the registry provides Letters of Authority. National Grid's deceased-account form draws the same boundary. A power of attorney and a last will are insufficient after death; an estate-name account requires one listed court-sealed authority document.
Social Security adds another useful comparison. Its website says funeral homes usually report a death, and 20 CFR 404.720 lists a certified public death record alongside a funeral director's or attending physician's statement as preferred evidence. SSA needs evidence of death when required, rather than the will that governs an estate.
How much do death certificates cost by jurisdiction?
There is no national price. The office holding the vital record sets the fee, and local-county service can differ from the state office. These agency figures were current in September 2026.
| Jurisdiction and agency | Certified-copy fee | Cost of 10 | |---|---:|---:| | Texas Department of State Health Services | $20 for the first death certificate and $3 for each additional certificate ordered at the same time | $47 before optional expedited services | | California Department of Public Health | $26 per death record under the fee schedule effective January 1, 2026 | $260 | | New York State Department of Health, outside New York City | $30 per copy by mail; online or phone orders cost $45 per copy, plus a vendor processing fee per transaction | $300 by mail |
Nine added copies cost $27 when ordered with the first in Texas and $234 in California, a difference of $207.
How long does it take to get a death certificate?
Vital-records processing can run from business days into weeks, before shipping. Texas DSHS says its clock begins when it receives the application and payment, and shipping time is excluded. California measures from receipt as well.
| Jurisdiction and agency | Published processing time | |---|---| | Texas Department of State Health Services | 20–25 average business days for a Texas.gov order; 25–30 by mail | | California Department of Public Health | 4–6 weeks on average; CDPH says a county office can often issue it faster | | New York State Department of Health, outside New York City | The agency reports “significant delays” without publishing a numeric estimate on its death-certificate page |
Check the first issued copy before releasing a large order whenever the office permits staged ordering. I once published a telephone-number split date a week early and spent the next month speaking to switchboards. Names, dates and places carry the same unforgiving quality here. A misspelling reproduced across 12 certificates can stall 12 submissions.
When should I order more copies later?
Order more when a newly found asset adds a confirmed `KEEP` destination, a recorder requires a separate filing, or an institution fails to return the copy it said it would return. USAGov directs applicants to the vital-records office in the state where the death occurred for price, eligibility and ordering methods.
Keep one spare untouched until the estate closes. Record the serial or issue details of every certified copy where the jurisdiction provides them, the recipient, the date sent and whether it came back. My grandmother kept an obsolete area code in her address book through two changes and refused to update it. Use the register to decide whether a returned copy is available for the next request.
Frequently asked questions
Does Social Security need an original death certificate?
Usually, no. Social Security says funeral homes generally report deaths directly. If SSA asks for evidence during a survivor-benefit claim, 20 CFR 404.720 lists a certified public death record as preferred evidence, alongside a funeral director's or attending physician's statement. Ask SSA before surrendering a certified copy.
What should I avoid doing immediately after someone dies?
Avoid distributing, selling or retitling estate property until you verify who has legal authority and how each asset transfers. Keep necessary home and auto coverage active while ownership is unresolved. Check the first death certificate for correct names, dates and place before ordering a large batch or sending claims.
Do utility companies need death certificates?
Policies vary. National Grid's deceased-account form requires a copy of the death certificate to close service or move service into the estate's name, but it does not specify a certified copy. For an estate account, it also requires court-sealed authority. Ask the utility before allocating certified paper.
How many death certificates are normally needed?
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau recommends requesting 10–12 certified copies for a surviving spouse. An executor's exact number equals confirmed retained copies for court, asset institutions, property recordings and insurers, plus two spares. Organizations accepting an upload, photocopy or returned certified copy do not consume another certificate.
Who needs death certificates?
Probate courts, banks, brokerages, retirement custodians, life insurers, pension administrators and property recorders commonly request proof of death. Government agencies may request it for benefits. USAGov says subscriptions may accept photocopies, while the CFPB notes that some financial organizations accept electronic copies. Confirm the format with each recipient.
What is the difference between an original and a certified copy?
The original death record is filed with the responsible vital-records authority. A certified copy is an official reproduction issued from that record for legal use; families often call it an “original.” A plain photocopy lacks that certification. Order certified copies from the state or local office holding the death record.
Which institutions keep the certified copy they receive?
A probate court keeps a certified copy filed into its case record; Massachusetts formal probate requires one. A recorder may also consume one when it records a death-related affidavit. Banks, insurers and pension administrators follow their own procedures. Ask every recipient whether it will keep, return or scan the paper before assigning a copy.